Eren's 2¢ / Technicolor / Television

“The Real World” Returns, Features QWOC Arielle AND Her Ex-Girlfriend

I have a confession: My name is Eren and I am a reality TV junkie! I’m addicted, y’all. It’s my guilty pleasure, my mind-numbing escape from reality that, ironically I know, is nowhere near real. And that’s precisely why I watch! Judge me if you like, but it’s incredibly entertaining to me to watch people make fools of themselves while the camera rolls non-stop in a faux non-scripted format.

I will watch almost anything claiming to be reality and I will most likely enjoy it. I’m talking about everything from housewives to amazing races, from kid beauty pageants to little people running around being adorable, from that super-fertile lady with the 700 children (and counting) to shows about addiction and overly-tanned Italian kids partying their way up and down the Jersey Shore. Then, I’ll terrify myself by watching shows featuring the morbidly obese, people with some sick and I mean sick eating habits.  Finally, I’m fixated with what’s probably the worst show for a self-proclaimed neat freak- Hoarders!

What’s the show that started my addiction and has kept me transfixed ever since? The Real World, of course! You know the line, ” Seven strangers picked to live in a house, work together, and have their lives taped.” And then we get to, “Find out what happens when people stop being polite and start getting real.” Yes!

Almost 30 seasons in and I still can’t shake it: the drama, the fighting, the random hookups, the partying, the tom-foolery and endless shenanigans; I love it all! There have been sobering, teachable moments too. The housemates have dealt with serious issues, such as drug addiction, domestic abuse, HIV, religion, racism and more right in front of our eyes. But, I’ll be the first to admit, I tune in  every season mostly for the hot chicks and drunkenness, while praying to the heavens that there’s at least one lesbian to gawk at. I still have a thing for Aneesa from Real World Chicago.

I lucked out this coming season! The housemates will return to San Francisco once again. The seven young cast members, as usual, flood the house primed and ready to party…until their exes walk in. Cue “record scratch” sound effect and dun-dun-dunnn…

Among the housemates that aren’t quite happy to see their exes is Arielle, a filmmaker and model who has major commitment issues. Her ‘on-again-off-again’ boo, Ashely C., is moving into the house intent on getting Arielle back for good… although she’s also interested in adding a third person to the mix. Oh snap!

ashley and arielle

I’m not so sure introducing the idea of a threesome is the BEST way to get your commitment-phobic girlfriend to finally settle down but I do know it is sure to make some darn good TV.  And you know who will be watching (me). Want to join me? Check out the trailer above and then tune in when the season starts on January 15th at 10pm on MTV. I must warn you though, do not- I repeat, do NOT- tune in expecting a glimpse of a healthy lesbian relationship on TV.   I’m almost certain it won’t be that. But I am certain it will be entertaining.

Join the Conversation Here

